Patty Wong for ALA President 2020


©2019 by Michael Kinane. Proudly created with

Santa Monica Faces of Downtown Headshot.

Patty Wong for ALA President 2020

A proven leader and catalyst for change


My Vision for ALA

Libraries are in a state of continual change. ALA as both an organization and as a reflection of our profession is also changing. We will face stressors that challenge us in publishing and digital access, intellectual freedom and legislation, funding and innovation. Our success will come from managing that change and not allowing it to manage us. Sustainability and resiliency will be hallmarks of my focus as ALA President. Join me!


My ALA experience

An active ALA member for 35 years, Patty has served several terms as at-large councilor (1996-2007, 2012-14) and as California Chapter councilor (2015-2017). Patty is currently in her second term on the ALA Executive Board, previously serving as the first Asian-American Executive Board member from 2001-05. She has held numerous committee positions, including chair of the Budget Analysis and Review Committee. She is an active member of ALSC, LLAMA, PLA, United for Libraries, YALSA, the Social Responsibilities Round Table, Ethnic and Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table, and the Rainbow Round Table. She is a member of the Freedom to Read Foundation and, as an Executive Board member, has worked with the Intellectual Freedom Committee, Committee on Legislation and the Conference Committee.


2001-2005, 2016-Present

Executive Board Member


California Chapter Councilor

1996-2007, 2012-2014

At-Large Councilor


Chair of the Budget Analysis and Review Committee


Spectrum Advisory Committee Member


Chair of the American Libraries Advisory Board


APALA President

About Me

Patty is the city librarian at Santa Monica (California) Public Library. She also serves part time on the faculty at the San Jose State University iSchool and is the former director of library services, Yolo (California) County Library. She started out her career as a children's librarian at Oakland Public Library.

Patty is the recipient of several awards, including the 2012 ALA Equality Award, CALA Distinguished Service Award (2014), and Member of the Year, California Library Association (2012). She holds a BA in Women’s Studies and an MLIS, both from the University of California at Berkeley.




Asian Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA)

Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA)

Barbara Stripling, ALA President 2013-2014, Syracuse University School of Information Studies

Camila Alire, ALA President 2009-2010, Dean Emerita at the University of New Mexico and Colorado State University

Sarah Long, ALA President 1999-2000, North Suburban Library System

Barbara Ford, ALA President 1997-1998, University of Illinois School of Information Sciences

Betty Turock, ALA President 1995-1996, Associate Dean Emerita at Rutgers University

Robert Newlen, Deputy Librarian of Congress 2016-2017

Pat Schuman, ALA President 1991-1992, ALA Publishers

Teri Switzer, ALA Treasurer 2003-2007, Colorado Association of Libraries President 2011-2012, Dean Emerita University of Colorado Colorado Springs

Pat Smith, retired executive director of the Texas Library Association (TLA)

Janet Clarke, APALA President 2015-2016, Stony Brook University

Madeline Peña, REFORMA President 2018-2019, Los Angeles Public Library

Ana Elba Pavon, REFORMA President 2005-2006, Oakland Public Library

Lucia Gonzalez, REFORMA President 2010-2011, Director at North Miami Public Library

Liz Bishoff, former VP of Digital Collection Services at OCLC

Chulin Meng, ALA At-Large Councilor 2017-2020, Lehigh University

Pat Toney, ALA At-Large Councilor 2015-2018, Oakland Public Library

Eric Suess, ALA At-Large Councilor 2008-2021, Director at Marshall Public Library

Sue Kamm, ALA At-Large Councilor, 2010-2013, Inglewood Public Library

Maribel Castro, Texas Library Association President, 2011-2012, Louise S. McGehee School

Dolly Goyal, California Library Association President 2018-2019, San Mateo County Libraries

Kenneth Yamashita, APALA President 1996-1997, Stockton-San Joaquin Public Library

Fu Zhou, CALA President 2019-2020, University of Missouri - Kansas City

Stephanie Sterling Brasley, Dean of the University Library at California State University - Dominguez Hills

Clara Chu, Mortenson Center Director, University of Illinois School of Information Sciences

Susan Anderson, Director at Redondo Beach Public Library

Sara Dallas, Director at Southern Adirondack Library System

Rebekkah Smith Aldrich, Executive Director at Mid-Hudson Library System

Melissa McCollum, Director at El Segundo Public Library

Jeannete Contreras, Placentia Library District

Alma Ramos-McDermott, Collier County Public Schools

Maria Kramer, Redwood City Public Library

Claudette McLinn, Center for the Study of Multicultural Children's Literature

Mario Ascencio, Art Center College of Design

Raymond Pun, Alder Graduate School of Education

Janice Hochstat-Greenberg, Jersey City Free Public Library

Shu Hua Liu, Santa Clara County Library

Hong Wu, Reynolds Community College

Michael Huang, Stony Brook University

Kathleen Bethel, ALA Councilor, Northwestern University

Peter Spyers-Duran, University of Central Florida, APALA Executive Board Member

Candice Wing-yee Mack, Los Angeles Public Library, YALSA President 2015-2016

Meghan Brody, Michigan State University

Lana Adlawan, Sonoma County Library

Melissa Cardenas-Dow, California State University - Sacramento

Touger Vang, Director of Learning Resources and Professional Development, Montgomery Community College

Julie Kane, Head of Collection Services and Associate Professor, Washington and Lee University

Sharon Hallberg, Chair at Yolo County Library Advisory Board

Julia Warga, ALA Intellectual Freedom Committee Chair 2019-2020, Director for Research and Instruction at Kenyon College

Karen Downing, University of Michigan

Meng Qu, Miami University (Ohio)

Mai Soua Lee-Cha, College of the Sequoias & Reedley College

Gladys Smiley Bell, Hampton University

Rita Pino Vargas, Haaku Community Academy

Douglas Smith, Berkeley Public Library

Diane Davenport, Berkeley Public Library

Lucien Plauzoles, Chair of the Santa Monica Library Board

Kelli Roisman, MLIS candidate at San Jose State University


Add your name to endorse Patty!


See Patty in Action


How to Help



If you would like to donate to Patty's campaign, please choose one of the following options:

1. Click below to donate with PayPal or visit

2. Donate with Venmo by sending payment to


3. Donate via a check payable to:

Patty Wong for ALA President

2831 Arizona Ave Apt A

Santa Monica, CA 90404

Please note that all donations are not tax-deductible.


If you're interested in volunteering for the campaign, please click sign up below or go to the following site: